My little champ…

My little champ...

Got this camera (pentax q) a couple of weeks ago. I was kind of skeptical about the purchase but once I got the package, I was amazed at how small and light yet sturdy the camera really is. I got it with the 02 zoom lens…

I loved the image IQ right out of the camera. I have a link to the galley form the pentax q at the bottom of the post. I don’t shoot RAW with this one, I found the jpeg mode to be good enough. In-fact, most of the time I find myself using the numbered dial on the front to shoot bold monochrome, vintage color or bold color images. Out of habit (I guess im kinda compulsive here šŸ˜€ ), I tweak the levels in LR, but never take the snaps into PS šŸ™‚

This little guy goes with me literally everywhere (ok not to the loo :P, but most other places šŸ˜‰ ). The battery is small so it does run out of juice kinda fast, but I still manage to get about 200 shots in one charge. I was amazed at the dslr like functions in the camera, for e.g.:
    Some awesome in camera filters (toy camera effect, an awesome b/w mode, vintage color mode)
    In camera RAW/jpeg editing with some pretty good results.
    The ability to modify the functionality of certain buttons
    In camera hdr mode (limited use)
    Custom settings

And above all, the killer feature, in body stabilization. I mount my canon FD lenses on the body and get stabilization, how freakin cool is that…

Having said that, Pentax q is no DSLR killer, the sensor is really small, and noisy… on a bright sunny day you can get the most of the 12 MPs but don’t stop down below f5.6, diffraction will kill the sharpness :). The results are really good for sharing online, you might be able to push your luck with prints up to 8 X 10, but that’s pushin it. This is good for being either a second or a third camera. For serious stuff I use my canon 7d/sony nex7…

Overall, I am highly satisfied with the lil gem (For the price its on Amazon this thing is an absolute steal). I use it as my street shot/hiking/biking camera when I know I am looking for the convenience rather than absolute quality. Here’s a sample of the stuff I have shot since I got it…

Hope you got smtin out of the post… do leave some feedback..

~
P

2 thoughts on “My little champ…

  1. Thanks for this post and the sample pics. I was contemplating buying this when I saw the deal on Amazon and your post pushed me over the edge. I have a Lumix DMC LX5 that captures amazing macro shots but can flatten out a landscape like nobody’s business! Can’t wait to add this little guy to my highly-portable photography collection!

    • Thanks for your comment Liz šŸ™‚
      I really hoe you enjoy the camera as much as I do… to get most out of the landscape shots, I would suggest using the “vibrant color enhance” filter…

Leave a Reply

